How To Pack Your Liquid Toiletries 


Packing my liquid, cream and aerosol products for a flight has always been one of the hardest parts of packing for me, but recently I feel like I’ve nailed it. In the past, I’ve always been able to rely on putting extra bits in my family’s clear bags because I couldn’t fit them all in my own one! Not this time. Today I’m flying to Ireland and I’m only taking carry on. I’m going with a friend so I can’t fall back on my family, so I set myself a little challenge to fit everything in my own bag. I have to say I’m really proud of myself for managing to do this. I even managed to fit in a travel sized squash!

Here’s how my thought process went in order to squeeze everything in.

Cut Things Out

I began by minimising the things I would take. I use a variety of products in liquid form throughout the day so I really needed to cut that down. Some of the things I could probably live without are;

  • Mouthwash (just make sure you take some toothpaste!)
  • Two types of eye makeup remover
  • Eyebrow gel
  • Two mascaras
  • Any other skincare items that are not completely essential, I’ve left out. You’ll probably be okay without that anti-wrinkle serum for a couple of days!

Reduce In Size

I realised after cutting only a couple of items out, I was still left with a lot of stuff to pack. Try to work out the exact quantity of your items you will actually need and use, and go from there. It just so happens that reducing items in size is one of my favourite parts to this process (easily pleased!), so here’s what I found worked great;

  • Travel sized items are great for things like dry shampoo which I know I’ll use. I recently received the amika dry shampoo with my first Birchbox delivery which was smaller than my usual travel dry shampoo so I’ve added this.
  • Find even smaller containers if you can get away with it. A lot of travel sized items actually contain a lot more product than what you’ll need on a short trip, so if you can find something smaller, you’ll save more space without missing out on product you wouldn’t have used. The Body Shop offer samples of their products in store in tiny pots (very cute) and these are perfect for the moisturiser I use for my face. I’ve also transferred some of my foundation into a smaller bottle which held makeup remover in a former life. 
  • I’ll only need to wash my hair twice on my trip so cutting down from travel sized bottles to sample sachets is great for this kind of thing. I’ve also found sachets of moisturiser, hair serum and perfume!
  • Other (non-sachet) samples I’m using are a tiny toothpaste and a Doucce mascara which I also received with my Birchbox.
  • Squishable packaging works well too. My hand cream is mostly used up so the empty part flattens to practically nothing!

Multi-use Products

If you’re happy using them, taking multi-use products can help to save space. On this occasion, I’ll use some of my hair conditioner in place of shaving gel, but some other ideas include;

  • 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner
  • 2-in-1 hair and body wash
  • Coconut oil has a number of uses such as conditioner, moisturiser, makeup remover, and it can even be used for shaving!

Alternative Products

Aerosol deodorants (which I usually use) take up a lot of room in these bags so I was adamant I’d find an alternative. After a bit of research, I found Mitchum Powder Fresh Deodorant Stick. I read somewhere that not all airlines allow solid deodorant sticks but I’m willing to take the risk. Fingers crossed! This has saved loads of room.

The deodorant is the only alternative I’ve really looked for on this occasion, but there are alternatives to a number of products;

  • Toothpowder instead of toothpaste
  • Makeup wipes instead of liquids (I have to use both!)
  • Solid shampoo
  • Solid body soap instead of shower gel
  • Powder foundation
  • Solid stick concealer
  • Lipstick instead of lip gloss

Have you found alternatives for any other types of products? Do you have any other tips?

HAPPY PACKING!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

