Birchbox July 2017 + Mystery Box!

I hadn’t intended to do any beauty related posts, but having received my first Birchbox delivery, I just got too excited and wanted to show everyone I know. I realise I’m a bit late to the party, but it’s the little things in life, right? I mean, it did make it onto the list of things that made me happy in July. (Psst, go check it out!)

I wanted to give this subscription thing a go as I very rarely try out different products, very much sticking to what I know. I also hoped I’d receive some travel size items as I’d find these useful for travelling, of course!

Because I signed up during a promotion, I received a ‘mystery’ box in addition to my regular box. I’ll start with the regular July box.

  1. Balance Me Flash Cleanse Micellar Water, RRP £16
    I’m really happy I received this as I know I’ll definitely use it. It has chamomile in it, so it smells super soothing, and seems to remove makeup effectively.
  2. amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo, RRP £20
    I often use dry shampoo so I was thrilled with this. It smells great and doesn’t seem to be too powdery like others I’ve tried. And it’s tiny enough to take on an aeroplane so it might have to join me on my trip to Ireland in a couple of days!
  3. Benefit Gogotint Lip & Cheek Stain, RRP £25.50
    I was reluctant to try this but tried it out on my cheeks. I didn’t find that it blended very well so I don’t think I’ll be using this one in future. Not really my cup of tea for use as a lip colour either.
  4. anatomicals Softening Eucalyptus Foot Cream, RRP £5.99
    I could smell this as soon as I opened the box! I haven’t tried it yet but it smells amazing and I will definitely be giving it a go.
  5. Birchbox Eyebrow Brush, RRP £1.99
    This isn’t something I necessarily need, but a handy spare to keep just in case.
  6. POP Bright Up Your Life Eyeshadow Trio in Champagne Mocha, RRP £15.50
    I was pleasantly surprised by this trio of eye shadows. The packaging didn’t wow me but the colours in the palette are really nice and have some good colour payoff. I might make this my travel go-to for eyeshadow as it’s tiny and lightweight.

The mystery box turned out to be the May box, but I’m obsessed with the design of this one. I think I’d have been satisfied with just the box alone!

  1. Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray, RRP £19
    I’ve never used a texturizing spray before, but often use dry shampoo as I said previously. I look forward to seeing how this one compares!
  2. Caudalie Vine[Activ] Glow Activating Anti-Wrinkle Sérum, RRP £36
    I love the sound of this but haven’t tried it yet. I’d really like to start introducing some more steps to my skincare routine and this seems like a good way to start!
  3. Doucce Punk Volumizer Mascara, RRP £18
    Although I thought the brush was a tiny bit chunky, the mascara applied quite nicely and feels very natural. It doesn’t seem to go all cakey and thick like others I’m used to. Another one to add to my packing list for Ireland!
  4. Spectrum Collection Marbleous C06 Tulip Eye Contour Brush, RRP £4.99
    I really liked this brush and was surprised at its quality. Will definitely be keeping and using it!
  5. Marsk Mineral Eyeshadow in Fifty Shades, RRP £14.49
    I love the dark, smokey colour of this, as well as the fact that it’s made from all-natural ingredients. I’ve not used an eyeshadow in this formula before so it’s one I’ll have to get used to, but I’ll definitely be hanging on to it!

So there you have it, my first boxes and already I’ve found some products I know I’m going to enjoy, and some that I can take with me to Ireland in two days time. (I’m sure there’ll be a post to come on that too!) I may or may not continue doing this as a series, so please let me know if you liked reading it.

Have you tried any new products lately?

6 thoughts on “Birchbox July 2017 + Mystery Box!

Add yours

  1. I may have treated myself to this box also 🙈🙈 I found the same with the cheek stain, it didn’t blend very well and the colour looked far too artifical on my skin 😭 I was impressed with some of it though, always nice to get a box of goodies x

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

